schools. The school inspectors, with the exception of those employed in Winnipeg, in the Ontario city elementary schools, and in the province of Quebec are appointed and paid by the Departments of Education. In Winnipeg they are appointed by the School Board, and in the cities of Ontario by the Public School Board or the Board of Education. The Ontario Government makes a grant towards the payment of the inspectors employed of a sum equal to \$6 for every teacher in the city occupying a separate room. The inspectors in the province of Quebec are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council and paid through the Department of Education.

Local Administration.—In all of the provinces except Nova Scotia, Quebee, and Ontario the local unit of school control is known as the school district. Nova Scotia uses the term school section for all its local units and the term district for a division of the province over which a Board of School Commissioners presides whose principal duty is determination of school section boundaries. Ontario uses the term district for its high school units and school section for its elementary school rural units. In the province of Quebec the local unit is the school municipality and the term district is used to indicate a division of a rural school municipality containing as a rule a single school.

The urban schools in all the provinces are administered under systems of municipal ownership. Cities, towns, and villages form separate administrative units, and in some cases a part of the territory adjacent to them is included in the unit. The system of municipal ownership is extended in some provinces to the administration of their rural schools. In Quebec the rural unit coincides with the township, and in British Columbia with the district municipality. In Ontario, since 1932, a township as a whole, or any part thereof, may be made the unit. Manitoba has a provision in its School Act by which a rural municipality may become a single school district, and has had one municipal school district for fifteen years.

With the exception of the cases mentioned in the previous paragraph, the rural school unit is in no way synonymous with the unit for municipal government. is usually formed out of an area which has enough children to make a school and which is not too large for all the children to reach the school on foot. Thus a rural municipality may contain several rural school units, and a rural school unit may be situated in parts of two or more rural municipalities. Several of the original school units, however, have taken advantage of the provision, included in the School Act of each province, which permits, at the option of the units concerned, the consolidation of two or more rural schools, or of rural schools with town or village schools. There are over 100 such consolidations in Manitoba, 60 in Alberta, 40 in Saskatchewan, 40 in Quebec, 30 in Ontario, and smaller numbers in the remaining provinces. In Saskatchewan some of them were large districts with conveyance provided from the time of first organization. By legislation passed in Alberta in 1935, the Minister of Education is empowered to direct that any two or more school districts be united under one Board, if, in his opinion, such a union would be in the interest of education. Early in 1937, eleven large units were in process of organization.

In all of the provinces, except Ontario and Saskatchewan, elementary and secondary education come under the same local authority. The Ontario and Saskatchewan Acts relating to secondary education provide for the appointment or election of a separate local board to manage high schools, but in many cases in both of these provinces the same local authority is in charge of elementary and secondary education. In Saskatchewan it is only in 18 or 20 of the larger towns and cities that there are two Boards. The continuation schools in Ontario are managed by the same Board as the elementary schools, and under the Boards of